Teaching Technique, Power And Control, Rudiments for Drumset, Steve fagiano drums,lessons, percussion,rudiments,video training,paradiddles,triplets,flam accent

Heat Strokes Photo Gallery is here

The finals of the 15th Annual Heat Strokes Drum Contest were held once again at the McHenry County College. In the beautiful 250 seat conference room. With a near capacity crowd, even though there were tornado warnings & a power blackout. This year the contest was Class (A) and (B), instead of a three class contest. This years contest was also one of the best in years, as any of top seven class (A) could have pulled off a win. For only the 2nd time in 15 years we had a repeat winner. Crystal Lakes own 18 yr. old Tyler Ommen won again in Class (A) and Joe Babick was the only other winning two years in a row. Wonder Lake's 27 yr. old Paul Thompson pulled off a Class (B) win. As its your preliminary score & talent & not age that gets you in a class. Once again the intensity was high as with many new drummers this year, people were wondering how the contest worked & how they would place. More info & pictures on www.FagianoDrums.com Mr. Fagiano mentioned that you never know, the contest could end up back in Arizona, or back west for the 20th Annual. in 5 years. What a great 15 years of running a contest. These kids both young and old have learned so much & went so far. Just imagine how much I have learned watching & running a contest like this. We might even try & get all the dvd's together & put out a " The Best of Heat Strokes Drumming "
What a great contest & even greater running one.

Class (A) Contestants
Placement Contestants City Score
1 Tyler Ommen Crystal Lake 93.00
2 James Pinki Crystal Lake 91.05
3 Ken Slama Wonder Lake 90.00
4 Elliott Lupp Mchenry 86.50
5 Lane Parsons Crystal Lake 85.50
6 Mike Reinhold Crystal Lake 82.00
7 Dylan Harper Lakewood 81.00
8 Matt Spina L.I.T.H. 76.00
9 Mike Miczak Mchenry 72.00
10 Alec Madeya Algonquin 66.00

Class (B) Contestants
Placement Contestants City Score
1 Paul Thompson Wonder Lake 54.50
2 Zack Perron Harvard 51.50
3 Joe Cangelosi Mchenry 50.50
4 Cody Bauman Marengo 47.50
5 Harsh Agawal L.I.T.H. 44.50
6 Tate Davis Crystal Lake 42.00
7 Colleen Bransley Crystal Lake 41.00
Honorable Mention
8 Nick Skleba Cary IL.
9 Ryan Szpak Huntley IL.
10 Marielle Prihoda C.L. IL.

Judges: John Williamson, Danny Villarreal.
Tabulator & Timer. Edward Roberts


Jeff Williams Royal Airs
Brook Mrvicka
( www.crystallakepatch.com )


Cynthia Harper
Dennis Kranz
Patyy Smith
Ed Violet
Don Sonne

Master of Ceremonies
Robert Madeya

Special Thanks to Doctor Thomas Takayama and
MCC & a cast of Volunteers to many to mention.


home drums,lessons, percussion,rudiments,video training,paradiddles,triplets,flam accent
Site design by 4saleexpress.com